
APPRAISER QUALIFICATIONS CRITERIA 
Effective January 1, 2012 

Nebraska Real Property Appraiser Board 
QUALIFYING EDUCATION MUST BE AQB/CAP APPROVED FOR CREDIT AND AT LEAST 15 HOURS 

  

EDUCATION PREREQUISITES 

EXPERIENCE 

PREREQUISITES 

 

SCOPE OF PRACTICE 

TRAINEE Successfully complete 75 hours qualifying education to include: 
Basic Appraisal Principles Q001 
Basic Appraisal Procedures Q002 
National USPAP – Q003 

No experience 
prerequisites. 

Appraisal of those properties within 
the authorized scope of practice of 
the supervising certified appraiser. 

LICENSED 150 hours qualifying education approved by the Board 
including a 15 hour National USPAP course. 

2,000 hours 
obtained during no 
fewer than 12 
months. 

Appraisal of non-complex 1-4 
residential units with transaction 
value less than $1,000,000 and 
complex property having 1-4 
residential units with transaction 
value less than $250,000. 

CERTIFIED 

RESIDENTIAL 

200 hours qualifying education approved by the Board 
including a 15 hour National USPAP course; plus an Associates 
or higher degree from an accredited institution of higher 
learning. 

OR: 

Twenty-one (21) semester credit hours covering the following 
subject matter courses: English Composition; Principles of 
Economics; Finance; Algebra; Geometry or higher 
mathematics; statistics; Introduction to Computers – Word 
Processing or Spreadsheets; and Business or Real Estate Law. 

2,500 hours 
obtained during no 
fewer than 24 
months. 

Appraisal of 1-4 residential units 
without regard to transaction value 
or complexity. This includes the 
appraisal of vacant or unimproved 
land that is utilized for one to four 
family purposes or for which the 
highest and best use is for one to 
four family purposes. DOES NOT 
include appraisal of subdivisions. 

CERTIFIED 

GENERAL 

300 hours qualifying education approved by the Board 
including a 15 hour National USPAP course; plus a bachelors 
degree or higher from an accredited institution of higher 
learning. 

OR: 

Thirty (30) semester credit hours covering the following subject 
matter courses: English Composition; Micro Economics; Macro 
Economics; Finance; Algebra, Geometry or higher 
mathematics; Statistics; Introduction to Computers – Word 
Processing / Spreadsheets; Business or Real Estate Law; and 
two (2) elective courses in accounting, geography; ag-
economics; business management; or real estate. 
 

3,000 hours 
obtained during no 
fewer than 30 
months, including a 
minimum 1,500 
hours non-
residential. 

All types of property. 



CONTINUING 

EDUCATION: 

28 hours of Board-approved education approved taken during 
each two-year renewal period. Appraisers licensed by 
reciprocity must furnish an Original Letter of Good Standing 
from resident state in lieu of education when submitting the 
renewal form. 
 
NOTE: Appraisers must successfully complete the 7-hour 
National USPAP Update Course or its equivalent as approved 
by the Appraisal Foundation in the two-year continuing 
education period. The USPAP Update Course cannot be 
completed on-line or by correspondence. 

  

 

REGULATORY 

AUTHORITY: 

 
The Nebraska Real Property Appraiser Board has jurisdiction 
over: 

1. any appraiser or appraisal involving: 
a. a federally-related transaction, 
 
b. real property financial transactions of the 

agencies, instrumentalities, and federally 
recognized entities covered by the Financial 
Reform, Recovery, and Enforcement Act of 
1989, 

 
c. any real estate-related transactions where an 

appraisal report was made under a written 
agreement that the appraisal report would follow 
the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal 
Practice guidelines, 

 
d. any real estate-related transactions where a 

written appraisal states that it is in compliance 
with the Uniform Standards of Professional 
Appraisal Practice. 

 
2. Board Licensed Residential and Certified appraisers, 

and Trainee appraisers to the extent that 
        the appraisers and any real property valuation      
performed by such individual shall conform to the 
        Nebraska Real Property Appraiser Act and NAC 298   
Nebraska Rules and Regulations. 

  



 
3. Nebraska is a mandatory state. Any appraiser who 

enters the state to perform a valuation assignment must 
do so by completing a Board-approved application for a 
temporary permit to enter the state prior to entering 
and performing a valuation assignment. 

 

  

 
REGARDLESS OF THE SCOPE OF PRACTICE FOR A CREDENTIAL 

ALWAYS APPLY THE COMPETENCY RULE OF USPAP 


